Academic Calendar

2018-2019 Academic Calendar

Fall 2018

August 29 (Wednesday)  New international students arrive and their Orientation begins
August 29 (Wednesday)  Online registration opens for add/drop period
August 31 (Friday)  New students arrive and Orientation begins
September 2 (Sunday)  Returning students arrive
September 4 (Tuesday)  Convocation
September 5 (Wednesday)  Classes begin
September 18 (Tuesday)  Last day to add classes
September 25 (Tuesday)  Last day to withdraw from a course without “W” notation recorded
October 6 (Saturday) - October 9 (Tuesday)  Mid-semester break
October 18 (Thursday)  Degree conferral for summer term finishers
October 19 (Friday)  Most first half-semester classes end
October 19 (Friday) - October 21 (Sunday)  Family & Friends Weekend
October 22 (Monday) - October 26 (Friday)  Add/drop period for second half-semester courses
October 22 (Monday)  Most second half-semester classes begin
October 29 (Monday) - November 2 (Friday)  Academic advising period
November 5 (Monday) - November 16 (Friday)  Online Spring registration period for Mount Holyoke and Five College courses
November 8, 1837  Founder’s Day
November 15 (Thursday)  Last day to withdraw from a course with “W” notation recorded
November 15 (Thursday)  Last day to declare ungraded option
November 21 (Wednesday) - November 25 (Sunday)  Thanksgiving recess
December 11 (Tuesday)  Last day of classes
December 12 (Wednesday) - December 14 (Friday, 7pm)  Reading days
December 14 (Friday, 7pm) - December 18 (Tuesday, noon)  Examinations
December 18 (Tuesday, noon) - January 1 (Tuesday)  December recess
January 2 (Wednesday)  Fall grades due

Intersession 2019

January 2 (Wednesday) - January 18 (Friday)  Intersession
January 19 (Saturday) - January 21 (Monday)  January recess
January 21 (Monday)  Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Spring 2019

January 16 (Wednesday)  Online registration opens for add/drop period
January 16 (Wednesday)  New international students arrive and their Orientation begins
January 17 (Thursday)  New students arrive and Orientation begins
January 22 (Tuesday)  Classes begin
February 4 (Monday)  Last day to add classes
February 11 (Monday)  Last day to withdraw from a course without “W” notation recorded
March 7 (Thursday)  Degree conferral for fall/winter term finishers
March 8 (Friday)  Most first half-semester classes end
March 9 (Saturday) - March 17 (Sunday)  Mid-semester break
March 18 (Monday) - March 22 (Friday)  Add/drop period for second half-semester courses
March 18 (Monday)  Most second half-semester classes begin
March 25 (Monday) - March 29 (Friday)  Academic advising period
April 1 (Monday) - April 12 (Friday)  Online registration period for Fall Five College courses
April 1 (Monday) - April 19 (Friday)  Online registration period for Fall Mount Holyoke courses
April 8 (Monday)  Last day to withdraw from a course with “W” notation recorded
April 8 (Monday)  Last day to declare ungraded option
April 9 (Tuesday)  Community Day (no classes)
April 30 (Tuesday)  Last day of classes
May 1 (Wednesday) - May 3 (Friday, 2pm)  Reading days
May 3, (Friday, 2pm) - May 7 (Tuesday, noon)  Examinations
May 9 (Thursday, noon)  Senior grades due
May 17 (Friday) - May 19 (Sunday)  Reunion I
May 18 (Saturday)  Baccalaureate Service
May 19 (Sunday)  Commencement
May 21 (Tuesday, 11pm)  Underclass grades due
May 24 (Friday) - May 26 (Sunday)  Reunion II

Summer 2019

Dates to be determined